Organising Partners


MNE organizers aspire to facilitate the attendees stay in Braga, especially by making their transportation as easy as possible.

  • Free shuttles from the Airport to Braga, and also from Braga to the Airport will be available
  • Free local public transport for all MNE attendees during the conference as well as during the week-end before and after the conference will be guaranteed
  • In the morning, dedicated buses will drive attendees from most of the hotels to the venue and back to the hotel after the sessions
  • Dedicated buses will accompanied MNE attendees to the social events

Feel free to contact us for more information!
We give you all a very warm welcome to MNE2017!

Who is behind this unique event?

Prof. Dr. Lars Montelius – the Director General at INL International Iberian Nanotechnology Laboratory. Known as a true nanotechnology defender and enthusiast, Lars Montelius is the founder of several Swedish nanotechnology companies. He is also the current president for IUVSTA and EC Executive High Level Group (HLG) at DG NMPB. Active member of two European platforms known as NANOfutures and EuMat, Lars Montelius will have an active position at MNE2017 as the Conference Co-chair.

Prof. Francesc Perez-Murano – vice-director of IMB-CNM. Passionate about the manufacturing process in nanotechnology, he dedicated is research in developing novel methods of nanofabrication for micro- and nano- electronics, and to applications of MEMS and NEMS in the areas of Telecommunications and Sensing. Being part of multiple EU collaborative research projects, coordinator of STREP project in FP6 (Novopoly) and more than 10 national Spanish projects, he is also the co-author of more than 150 articles in peer reviewed International Journals and co-inventor of four patents. Prof. Francesc Perez-Murano will be the Conference Co-chair at MNE2017.

Joan Baussells – Research Professor at the Barcelona Microelectronics Institute (IMB-CNM, CSIC). Having the reputation of an avid researcher in the field of MEMS/NEMS and nanoelectric devices, Joan Baussells published more than 100 papers in several international journals and has contributed with more than 240 conference papers. Being a member of the International Steering Committee of the Transducers conferences, he was Program Chair of the 32nd MNE Conference, held in Barcelona in 2006, and this year at the 43th edition of MNE2017 he will be the Technical Co-Chair.


In September 2017, the 43rd edition of MNE2017 will be held at INL – International Iberian Nanotechnology Laboratory, in Braga – Portugal. This is a great opportunity to reinforce links within this international community and to be enjoy Portugal, the hospitality, the culture, the people and the Atlantic coast climate and of course the excellent food & wine.

MNE2017  is the major annual conference devoted to micro and nano-engineering and manufacturing, held in a an European country every September. The Conference brings together engineers and scientists from across the world to discuss recent progress and future trends in research, fabrication, and applications of micro and nano devices. MNE usually attracts about 800 -1000 participants (>600 papers) and is the premier European conference in micro and nanotechnology on the following subjects:

  • Micro and Nanolithography;
  • Micro and Nanofabrication/Engineering;
  • Micro and Nano devices and their applications in engineering science (MEMS, NEMS, MicroOptics, Photovoltaic,…);
  • Micro and Nano devices and their applications in Life Science (µTAS, BioMEMS, Microfluidic Devices,…).

The program and layout have been structured to maximize the opportunity for participants to visit the technical exhibition during the coffee breaks and poster sessions. Here’s a list of some of the plenary speakers at MNE2017 :

  • Federico Capasso, Harvard: “Metasurfaces – New Frontiers in Structured light and Surface Waves
  • Frank Schuurmans, ASML, Vice President Research: “The story of ASML – from spin off to a leading semiconductor lithography company”
  • Mark Hutchinson, ARC Centre of Excellence for Nanoscale BioPhotonics (CNBP; Adelaide):  Nanoscale Biophotonics
  • Naomi Halas, RICE: Plasmonics
  • Göran Stemme (10 years), KTH. MEMS technology for medical applications
  • Olivier Joubert (20 years), CEA-LETI: New trends in plasma etching for ultra large scale integration technology.

This year we look forward to welcoming you to Braga and to INL!

Gold Sponsors

Silver Sponsors

Other Sponsors