Organising Partners

Plenary Speakers

Plasmonics: from noble metals to sustainability


Naomi Halas is the Stanley C. Moore Professor in Electrical Engineering at Rice University, and Director of the Smalley-Curl Institute. Halas is a pioneer in nanophotonics, creating the concept of the “tunable plasmon”. She pursues research in light-nanoparticle interactions and their applications in biomedicine, optoelectronics, chemical sensing, photocatalysis and sustainability. She has authored more than 300 refereed publications, and has been cited more than 65,000 times (Google Scholar). She is co-founder of Nanospectra Biosciences, a company developing photothermal therapies for cancer and other diseases based on her nanoparticles, currently in clinical trials. Halas is a member of the National Academy of Sciences (USA), the National Academy of Engineering (USA), and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. She is a recipient of the American Physical Society Frank Isakson Prize for Optical Effects in Solids, the Willis E. Lamb Award, and the Wood Prize of the Optical Society of America. She is a Fellow of OSA, APS, SPIE, IEEE, MRS, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and the National Academy of Inventors. She is a member of the Editorial Advisory Board of ACS Photonics, ACS Nano, Materials Horizons, Chemical Physics Letters and Laser and Photonics Reviews, and an Associate Editor of Nano Letters.

The Importance of Knowing You are Sick: Nanoscale Biophotonics For The ‘Other’ Brain


Professor Hutchinson is the Director of the ARC Centre of Excellence for Nanoscale BioPhotonics (CNBP) and a Professor within the School of Medicine at the University of Adelaide.

Professor Hutchinson returned to the University of Adelaide in 2009 as an NHMRC CJ Martin Research Fellow, and established the Neuroimmunopharmacology research laboratory. From 2005 to 2009 Mark worked in the world leading laboratory of Prof Linda Watkins in the Center for Neuroscience at the University of Colorado at Boulder. Here he pioneered with Prof Watkins the research which has led to the discovery of novel drug activity at innate immune receptors.

Mark’s research has implicated the brain immune-like cells in the action of drugs of dependence and the negative side effects of pain treatments. His work has enabled the translation of compounds at the lab bench to clinical agents used at the bedside. Mark has published over 100 papers in journals and refereed conference proceedings.

He is now added Director of the CNBP to his roles. The CNBP is an ARC Centre of Excellence with $47M of funding committed for 7 years, headquartered at The University of Adelaide, with nodes at Macquarie University, Sydney and the RMIT, Melbourne. We are partnered with universities and companies in Europe, the US and China, as well as other Australian institutions.

The CNBP has a mission to “Discover new approaches to measure nano-scale dynamic phenomena in living systems”.

20 years celebration talk – New trends in Plasma Technologies


Olivier Joubert is director of research at CNRS. He has a broad experience in silicon technologies. In the last 30 years he has been working on miniaturization technologies and more specifically on plasma surface interactions for advanced CMOS devices fabrication.

MNE fellow recipient  – “Lab on chip” – biomimetic channel networks


Andreas Manz is currently a scientist at KIST Europe and a professor of systems engineering at Saarland University. He studied chemistry at ETH Zurich, was professor of Chemistry at Imperial College London 1995-2003 and head of ISAS Dortmund from 2003 -2008.

The story of ASML – from spin off to a leading semiconductor lithography company


Frank Schuurmans received his MSc (cum laude) from Utrecht University and his PhD from the University of Amsterdam, both in Physics. From 2000 until 2007, he worked at Philips Research, on various optics-related topics. From 2007 until 2011, he worked at FEI – an electron microscope vendor – responsible for the development program of their high-end microscopes. He joined ASML in 2011 where he currently holds the position of Vice President Research.

10 years celebration talk – MEMS technology for medical applications


Göran Stemme is since 1991 professor and head of the Micro and Nanosystems Department at the Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden. His research spans over a broad range of techniques and application fields such as medical technology, microfluidics, optical applications, wafer-level packaging, nanotechnology and device integration.

Tactile mechanics — a new avenue for nano-engineering?


Vincent Hayward was the holder of the International Chair in Haptics at the Université Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris, from 2008 to 2011 and was subsequently appointed Professor. From 1989 to 2008, he was Assistant, Associate, and then Full Professor at McGill University, Montreal, Canada, and was director of the McGill Research Center for Intelligent Machines from 2001 to 2004. Vincent Hayward is a Fellow of the IEEE and just completed of an Advanced Grant from the European Research Council. Since January 2017, Hayward is a Leverhulme Visiting Professor of Tactile Perception and Technologies at the Institute of Philosophy, School of Advanced Study, University of London.

Gold Sponsors

Silver Sponsors

Other Sponsors